“My Daddy Can Do Anything”

Last weekend, my children were playing at a neighbor’s house. I was in the garage when my daughter came running in and said our neighbor was having trouble starting his mower and asked if I would help him. I said yes and that I’d be up there in a minute to help out. She turned around to run back and as she left the garage, she yells “My daddy can do anything. He fixes things with his hands”. I blushed.

Recently, I was working in my office while my son was playing on the floor. After a few minutes, he asked me to look at him.  He had built, MacGyver style, a desk out of some toys and a book. His laptop was an old calculator and he was typing furiously. I asked what he was doing and he said. “I’m being you daddy”. I blushed again.

The eyes of my children see me as all-knowing and worthy of emulating. They notice things like my hands. Where I only see what I do with my hands as mundane – typing, pulling a starter chord or how I get food in my mouth for instance – they see my hands as how I pick them up and play with them. They see comfort; a hand to hold when things hurt, they are uncertain or scared. They are at the magic age where dad can do ANYTHING, even when I think I can’t.

That made me think about my role as a dad. What am I modeling to my children? What is it I do that they see in me as so great? Even on my bad days, I’m still their dad. What are they learning from me? You only have your children at home for a short amount of time and then they are off into the world. I see a big part of what I do as dad is to run interference between my children and what the world. It’s my job to show them that faith in Christ is more than enough to see them through.  It’s my job to teach my children to say “yes sir”  and “no ma’am”. It’s my job to protect them and teach them to not judge or bully or laugh at people’s pain. It’s my job to see them grow older and enjoy the things they do and say along the way.

The eyes of my children see someone who can do anything. I love that.

If you are looking for some good “dad” books, I suggest Boys Should Be Boys and Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters by Dr. Meg Meeker.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

